TACO TUESDAY

Tuesday means taco night… right? Well it did in my house tonight!

Make these tacos for your next taco Tuesday or when you are craving tacos or when you just want something downright tasty & healthy! And yes, also vegan & gluten-free! You can really adjust this recipe to please any diet!

Taco Seasoning:

In a small bowl mix together:

2 tsp chili powder

1.5 tsp onion powder

1.5 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp smoked paprika

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp cumin

Set aside until needed for taco meat.

Ingredients for taco “meat”:

1 cup green lentils *dry lentils & rinse before cooking

2 cups low sodium vegan vegetable broth OR 2 cups of water with a vegan bouillon cube.

1 sweet onion (chopped)

2 garlic cloves (minced)

2 tsp coconut oil

Directions:

In a large pan (I used a wok) on low-med heat sauté chopped onion and minced garlic in coconut oil, until soft or have turned translucent. Add 1 cup of rinsed lentils, 2 cups of vegetable broth, add a few scoops of the taco seasoning and mix everything together. Turn heat to high and bring to a boil, give a few more stirs, cover and reduce to a simmer for approx. 30 minutes or until lentils are soft and water has evaporated. After 30 minutes, I removed the lid and stirred occasionally for 5 more minutes and added more taco seasoning.

Taco topping ideas: lettuce, tomatoes, vegan cheese, beans, olives, jalapeños, green onions, peppers, nutritional yeast, salsa, guacamole… whatever your heart desires!

I had my lentil taco meat on a lettuce wrap topped with guacamole, salsa, green onions, nutritional yeast, a bit of Daiya cheese & hot sauce. The tacos were absolutely delicious and so filling from the lentil taco meat!

Lentil Lettuce Wrap Tacos

Lentil Lettuce Wrap Tacos

Karim made his tacos (well actually I made them because he was rushing out the door for hockey) with gluten-free rice wraps topped with lentil meat, kidney beans, guacamole, salsa, hot sauce, Daiya cheese, lettuce, green onions, tomatoes and S&P to taste.

Lentil Tacos with Rice Wraps

Lentil Tacos with Rice Wraps

Karim actually couldn’t get over how much the lentil taco meat tasted like beef taco meat. I have a feeling that taco Tuesday will be happening weekly since we both loved the tacos so much!

And yes of course I made enough to have leftovers. I am a big fan of making enough food so we have enough for our lunches the next day. Karim and I are both students so we save a lot of money not buying lunch and snacks at school. We also eat much healthier by eating leftovers and packing our own lunches! Having leftovers saves time in the kitchen so you don’t have to make another meal to take for lunch. I also make/pack our lunches in the evening to save us time in the morning. I like to stay in bed for as long as I can in the morning and I also like to eat delicious food at school. I actually have Wednesdays off from school (lucky me) so Karim gets the taco leftovers in his lunch (lucky him).

Taco leftovers for lunch.

Taco leftovers for lunch.

Karim is the guacamole maker in our house. Here is his super easy & tasty guacamole recipe that I love and we used on the tacos tonight:

1 avocado

1 lime

1-2 cloves of garlic (minced)

Salt & Pepper to taste

Optional: a dash of turmeric.

Directions: Peel avocado & remove pit, add avocado flesh to a bowl and smash with a fork. Cut lime in half, squeeze all juice out of it & also feel free to add some of the lime flesh. Add the minced garlic and salt & pepper to taste. Mix all ingredients. Now enjoy! Yes, it is that easy! It is also delicious!

And… I didn’t get this post out on time so it is now officially 1am which makes it Wednesday! But I am still going to call this post Taco Tuesday. Not only does it have a good ring to it but I think taco Tuesday should happen next week in your house; and oh yeah… this was my Tuesday night dinner. I ended up going for a walk with Karim when he got home from hockey, so it is his fault that I am late posting this.

What are some of your favourite taco toppings?

Cheers,

Paige xo.

Leave a Reply

